Fighting Fear

Fighting Fear


Right now we are on vacation in North Carolina. Today we took my sweet Gabe out on my father in law’s boat to go fishing (it was his first time fishing on a boat on a giant lake so this was a big deal to him). After being there for a little while he started whining and complaining about all kinds of things, not catching fish, it’s too hot, I’m hungry, I want to go home, etc. We knew he was getting bored so we figured, let’s jump in and take him swimming. He’ll cool off and have some fun. That was not the case. He was so afraid to go in because he couldn’t see what was in the water. We kept telling him over and over, there’s nothing in the water, daddy is swimming right there, you have your life jacket on, you aren’t going to go under!

Isn’t life like that sometimes though? I used to be afraid of the dark because I couldn’t see what was in the dark. I was afraid of taking the teaching job (that I now love) because of past experiences and because I didn’t know if I’d enjoy it again. I was afraid of starting my Young Living business because I didn’t know if I’d be successful or not (I still don’t know because I just started but I’m doing it, you can support me here if you’d like!). 

That’s just like FEAR; to creep in and steal our joy, our success, our opportunities. What we have to realize though is, when fear takes away all those things, it’s because we let it. We let it come in instead of shutting the door in its face and saying “Nope! Not today fear!” And then it controls us rather than us controlling it. Let it go! (For all who get that reference, you’re welcome). We have the power to say no to fear!

I want you to know that eventually, Gabe got in the water. He was still afraid but he wasn’t letting it control him. His heavy breathing eventually slowed, and pretty soon we had to force him to get out of the water. He didn’t want to leave and was begging to go back again soon! I couldn’t help but laugh and roll my eyes at him when he said, “Hey that wasn’t so bad after all!” (Oh the mouths of 5 year olds).

So my encouragement for you today is, please do not let fear control your life. If there is a decision that needs to be made that you are fearful of, pray about it (and make sure you listen for the answer). Talk with someone you trust who is also wise and won’t take part in any negativity. If you let fear control you, you will never reach your full potential and God’s purpose for your life.

Thanks for reading! Have a great night.

-Kerri

Leave a Reply

